Posted by: kljolly | May 27, 2013

Cumbria Day 3: to Durham?

Assuming all goes (relatively) as planned on Days 1 and 2, I would like to reserve one day for a trip to Durham, mainly to see the Lindisfarne Gospels exhibit.  I have been to Durham and Chester-le-Street many times (and seen the Lindisfarne Gospels in the British Library), but to see the manuscript this close to its earlier homes is a wonderful opportunity.

Lindisfarne Gospels

My plan is to make a full circle counter-clockwise:  go from Penrith over the Pennines via Stainmore Pass, which would be the route Aldred’s family took, and possibly Aldred himself as I imagine him traveling in Cumbria.  Then return via the north through Corbridge, Hexham, and Carlisle.  I have gone along Hadrian’s wall to Ruthwell cross and Bewcastle before so will resist temptation to revisit.

The main question is whether I can cram anything else into the day, given that my main interest is to spend a bit of time in Durham.  One possible side trip east is to the coastal estates of Castle Eden and Easington, where I have placed Aldred’s family.  Or should I revisit Chester-le-Street?

Addendum:  I just realized looking at my flight plan that I have FOUR days to explore Cumbria and environs!  So now to think of another route….


Responses

  1. I guess you’re referring to the stuff displayed in the undercroft at Durham? Terrific. Are you going to Whitby? And are you planning on segueing past York? If so, there’s a new exhibition in the crypt at the Minster, which has some early stuff, including – I think! – finds from an anglo-saxon cemetery. The press details are rubbish so it would be worth contacting the Minster to get the low-down on content. And, of course, York is a fabulous medieval city.

  2. The Lindisfarne Gospels will be on exhibit at the University of Durham’s Palace Green library from 1 July-30 September. The link above to the celebration includes all kinds of activities associated with its presence in Durham.
    I am trying to limit myself to sites I have not visited before, although I would love to revisit Whitby and York. if I had time.
    If I am in Durham for the day, I can’t NOT visit my favorite cathedral and will probably stop in the library to see the Durham A.IV.19 manuscript that has been my obsession for the last several years.


Leave a Reply

Categories

